jump to navigation

A Tale of Two Toxins August 30, 2008

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, Children, Family, Health.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Some of you are going to laugh at me. But it’s ok. After all, my husband did. My friends, however, knew better. I was a mom on a mission…

One of the many debates in the autism world centers on the role of toxins, environmental or otherwise, in the triggering of autism’s onset, or the worsening of its symptoms. At the risk of oversimplifying my own philosophy, I’ll just say that I think most children who develop autism are born with a genetic predisposition to get it and that for each child, the factor that triggers its onset is different. Maybe a vaccine, an antibiotic, a virus or infection, a diet or food allergy, a toxin. Any number of things that assault the immune system.

So back to my mission. I get an email from my senator at 11pm that my neighborhood was being sprayed the next  night with a chemical called Scourge  to protect us from West NIle Virus. (Scourge–could there be a scarier name?)  It went on to advise us to stay in the house from 7-11pm and for 30 minutes after the spraying ended. Close all windows. Air-conditioners to be off, with vents closed. Put away all outdoor toys, etc. Pick your garden’s vegetables!

I don’t know about you, but if that’s what the government is telling you, what are they holding back? I wasn’t sticking around for this. So I dutifully locked down the house, and put everything from the outdoors inside and then packed the family up and headed for an overnight adventure at the inlaws.

With my son on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, I need to make him everything he eats. So I had all this cooking and baking to do, plus the packing. And little time do do it.

Finally, with the clock nearing 7:00 (I am always late!) and our car heading down the highway, I looked back half expecting to see some toxic plume in the rear view mirror. What I saw was the entire neighborhood obliviously going about their regular business. For the next hour or so, I had to endure my husband’s jokes. Things like jokingly hollering to other cars that they are going the wrong way. Follow us to safety. Etc…

But I slept well that night at the inlaws, comforted in the knowledge that I had protected my family from the surely toxic Scourge.

The next morning, we bid the inlaws farewell and headed out to the ocean for some fresh air, sun and surf. A due reward.

Not even 30 seconds and only 12 inches into the water, my son gets stung by a jellyfish. Go figure. After apparently “sleeping off” that  toxin for four hours on the beach, “Mr. Never Naps” seemed to be ok. It’s pretty scary out there. Natural and artificial toxins are everywhere.

Guess you can’t always protect them after all.

Comments»

1. ann-marie - August 31, 2008

But you are so right to do what you can. And that’s the difference. You cannot protect anyone from a jellyfish sting. but you can protect your child from the long-term effects of poisons designed to disrupt endocrine, immune, and reproductive systems…so I applaud you for packing up your family! I would’ve done the same thing!


Leave a Reply

