jump to navigation

Green M&Ms Make Me…Angry September 19, 2008

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, autism diet, Health, specific carbohydrate diet, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Argh! Another dietary infraction at school. It seems ‘C’ got an M&M…from the floor, no less! And here’s the ironic thing… when the school nurse called my cell to tell me about it, I was eating breakfast with some of the moms from his class. And one of them sent in M&Ms that morning.

This mom is a new friend of mine. A few of us formed a breakfast club of sorts, meeting for french toast, bacon and support every Thursday morning at the diner. (Don’t know why we didn’t start this club up last year, but I guess we just had to get used to our own transitions to kindergarten.)

These women are already so important to me. We not only have parenting an autistic child in common, but our kids share the same teacher. Our shared experiences really empower us. We are becoming our own little “force” to be reckoned with. A little like “Don’t mess with the kids in class 1-5”. Wait til we join the SEPTA team next week!

So, the M&M thing really set me off… especially coming right on the heels of the “raisin incident”. And mostly because it set ‘C’ off–literally. It had chocolate, dairy, sugars, and artificial color/dye, just to name a few of the offensive parts. Who wouldn’t want one? Especially a little boy. Or the little girl who was the intended recipient of the candy.  In fact, I know several people who can’t push themselves away from a bowl of them. (Of course, they are my husband’s family and that’s a whole other post…)

So ‘C’ is not his usual self now. And how long that will last remains to be seen. (Bananas do him in for 10 days.) The regular ‘C’ is gone… replaced by a boy who waffles between maniacal laughter and bouts of sudden crying and sadness. He squeeks out “feel better”, but can’t tell me what hurts. His verbals are down.  He peed a little in his pants because he is not as focused. He peed a little in the tub for the first time in his life.  He’s even limping a little, but he didn’t injure himself. And so we wait…

So I’m mad about it all. Not at my friend. After all, she sent them in as a reinforcer to motivate her child. If ‘C’ didn’t have these diet issues, I can’t say I wouldn’t have sent them in for him, too. Though I do wish the kids, who are all advanced enough in age and skill, would all just move on to non-edible reinforcers, like stickers, playgound or computer time, or something similar and a little more toward mainstreaming. No one would argue that most kids would be better off without candy-especially in the morning.  (Of course I’ve always been put off by the food reinforcers, even when used on ‘C’ as a toddler. They always made me feel like ABA was dog-training. “Do this trick, and here’s your treat”)…

I am mad ‘C’ can’t have M&Ms. I’m mad other kids can–and do–in front of him. I’m mad that they are always at my husband’s family’s functions. I’m even mad at myself for eating them when ‘C’ is not around.

So, I guess green M&Ms make me mad. And to all of you out there with your minds in the gutter… they certainly don’t make me horny. What’s that  anyway?  Anyone remember?

Comments»

1. corematters - September 20, 2008

i’m with you. candy at school is like beer at church. or celebrating the numbers with cake at a weight watchers meeting. at my youngest child’s school, one kindergarten teacher kept her pockets FULL of m&ms and doled them out all day. talk about dog-training…suggests the need for some teacher training to me. if the only reward you can think of is candy….something is wrong.

autism or not, do these “teachers” think about what they’re doing? what’s it called when you eat to feel good? obesity?

what do we americans currently boast of in the 8-13 year old age group these days? an obesity epidemic?

can they say, “homework pass”? what kid wouldn’t kill him/herself for that?

kids get enough candy. they don’t need it at school. so to ban it in order to protect our sensitive children should not be the least bit painful.

it should be applauded.


Leave a Reply

