jump to navigation

10 Rules for Parents of Special Needs Kids September 24, 2008

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, humor, Parenting, special needs.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I went to my first SEPTA meeting the other night. That’s the Special Ed PTA. I had planned to go last year, but, well, you know how plans go…

So my “breakfast club” buddies were there, and some of the teachers we knew from the school. A Doctor of Audiology gave a great presentation on Auditory Processing Disorders (details to come), so that’s one more thing to consider testing for down the road.  (‘C’ would need to be more verbal for the test.)

What a great organization SEPTA is…lots of information, many programs for our kids, including several sports programs coming up which I plan to register ‘C’ in. Of course, I have no idea what he may do with a lacrosse stick, but, hey that’s what all that protective gear is for, right?

I want to share one of SEPTA’s flyers called: “Ten Rules For Parents of Special Needs Kids”. The rules as they were presented are in black and they are great. If anyone knows the author, tell me and I’ll give credit.  The accompanying red text is my twisted take on them after having little sleep and being my punchy self.

1. Take one day at a time. Use your energy positively. [One day feels like 72 hours at my house… Um, what “‘energy”?] 

2. Never underestimate your child’s potential. Encourage them. [Wow buddy, I’m lovin’ that impressionist wall mural you created with my lipstick. Way to go, little man!]

3. Find positive mentors who can share with you experience, advice and support. [Then abduct them, take their medication, and put them to work in your house.]

4. Be involved in appropriate educational and learning environments from infancy on. [Awaken your baby, breakfast, morning ABA, nap, 5 minutes to be a baby, afternoon ABA, dinner, tubbie, bedtime. Repeat daily ’til child gets call from center’s waiting list. Then, put baby on school bus for full day program. Remove sleeping baby from bus 8 hours later…while greeting arriving home staff. Shoo away neighborhood kids who want to play with your child. Repeat.]

5. Keep in mind the feelings of spouse and your other children. [Do walk gingerly around the feelings of your other children for they are the real angels in this world. But your spouse is fair game…STOMP HIM on occasion..he’ll appreciate the attention.]

6. Answer only to your conscience. You do not need to justify your actions to friends or the public. [“No, Mother. He’s not just a ‘late talker’. I really don’t think he should be in the wedding. Look Ma, he’s not gonna sit still and pose for a freakin’ school picture, so just get over it!”… Oh, and to the nosy woman at Walmart eyeing my son during a meltdown: “What the *%#&*! are you looking at, Lard-Ass?!” …Wow, did I really just say that out loud? ]

7. Be honest with your feelings. Remember, you can’t be a super-parent 24 hours a day. [Sure I can. Faster than a speeding bullet, more powerful than a locomotive, able to leap tall buildings in a single bound…no wait, that’d be my son…]

8. Be kind to yourself. Don’t focus continually on what still needs to be done. Remember to look at what you’ve already accomplished! [Sure, let me treat myself to the spa. I’d love to look at what I’ve already accomplished…but I can’t see anything past those piles of laundry, dishes, toys…]

9. Stop and smell the roses. You have gained an appreciation for the little things that others have taken for granted. [First of all, if I stop, I’ll surely drop. And, as for the roses…Hey! Where did all my freakin roses go???  Why…you..little…]

10. Keep your sense of humor. [Sense of humor?]

 

Comments»

1. Sandi - September 24, 2008

Greetings!

I’m new to the WordPress community and have an autistic son (and somehow those two phrases are supposed to be related…go figure!). Anyway…! Stumbled across your blog and wanted to wave.

This is a great list and I enjoyed your comments, too. 🙂

I am working on how to use humor to defuse my little guy’s remarkable temper in a way that makes sense to him and produces quick results for me! It’s never a dull moment, eh?

Best wishes with ‘C.’ It really is an adventure, living with autism in the house.

2. hopeauthority - September 24, 2008

Welcome, Sandi! Glad you stumbled this way and took time to wave.
I’ve found that if I sometimes I mimic my little guy’s fit (in the privacy of our home, of course!), he is shocked into silence or laughter. (Of course, with that comes that look that says: “Stop that, Ma…you’re acting like an idiot!) But, I’ll take it!


Leave a Reply

