jump to navigation

Autism and Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy October 24, 2008

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, Children, Health, special needs.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I’m breathing easier today…literally.

I am surprised and happy to report that our insurance company (to remain nameless) has approved our request (from June!) for ‘C’ to receive Hyberbaric Oxygen Therapy (HBOT). Although the company is only willing to approve 10 of the anticipated 40 treatments at this time, that’s 10 more than I thought they would approve. Hence, my sigh of relief.

Since I am trying to do the holistic thing with ‘C’, I really love the idea of HBOT. It’s oxygen, for God’s sake…long recognized as a good thing!  No nasty or prolonged side effects to worry about, unless you’re prone to seizures (which is not the case here). I’ve read that HBOT can stir up some yeast issues in the gut, so I’ve waited to get that well under control before starting and will keep a close eye on that as we proceed.

Some people get pre- and post-brain scans done so they can have actual proof of any changes in the brain. I’m not doing that because it’d be too difficult to accomplish without  knocking him out…twice. I’m hoping that the changes will be evident to everyone.

The place we’re going allows me in the chamber with him (so long as I have a chest x-ray first). Hey, maybe I’ll come out of this looking better. Maybe, in addition to improving ‘C’s life, it’ll take away the effects autism has had on my tired old body. A two-fer.

They call each treatment session a “dive”. It supposedly feels like the pressure you get when diving deep or flying in a plane. It takes 10 minutes to get to the right pressure, one hour at pressure, and 10 minutes to de-pressurize.

For the best benefit, the treatments need to be done pretty close together. We’re doing 2 the first week, then 3-4 per week from then on. It’ll be a nightmare on the family schedule, for sure. And its 45 minutes away from home.

I plan to report on ‘C’s progress as we go, so anyone interested in going diving with us, please mark your calendar for November 4th.

That’s when the next leg of ‘C’s journey back from autism will begin…

Comments»

1. Fielding J. Hurst - October 24, 2008

Wow, what exactly did you do special to get them to pay?

2. Fielding J. Hurst - October 24, 2008

We start around that same time. We are renting and will have it in house for 30 days.

3. hopeauthority - October 24, 2008

I can’t take the credit. I believe the approach taken was from a mitochondrial disorder perspective rather than an autism perspective. I don’t know if that had anything to do with it, but my son does have medical records that support the mitochondrial disorder diagnosis. He had very unique, specialized lab work done a few years ago while he was in a large autism (James) study. As I understand it, many of those tests are not available at regular labs, even if you are willing to pay for them. Guess we were lucky to get into the study through our DAN doctor.

Good luck with the rental! How exciting, eh? We’ll have to compare notes!


Leave a Reply

