jump to navigation

Nowhere To Go But Down… November 1, 2008

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, Children, special needs.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Well, as expected, after the magical Halloween spell wore off, I had nowhere to go but down.

Of course, it didn’t help that I had to start thinking about and preparing for a meeting on Monday morning with ‘C’s teacher. Haven’t met “officially” since open house night…and even that was just the meet and greet kind of thing. No special discussions. 

Sure, there’s a “communication notebook” that goes back and forth each day. Here’s how it works: I painstakingly write everything that has happened to ‘C’ during the 17 hours since he left the classroom… including relevant behavior issues, new verbals or skills noticed, how he slept, ate, and pooped. I also ask any questions I have about ‘C’ and school.

Too often, I get back a note like: “Excellent morning!” (Uh, hello. What exactly does that mean? Did his day go to shit after lunch? ) Or, after pouring my heart out with pride about his basketball accomplishments and lots of language. I got “That’s great to hear.” (That’s the written equivalent for ZZzzz. Oh, and how was his day???!!) 

Don’t get me wrong. I like this teacher, but I need to know more about what is going on with my son each day. Specifics, please…at least sometimes. The other class moms feel the same frustration. I need academic, social and behavioral updates. Usually… if I get any details at all… I’ll only get the behavioral kind.

So now I’m sifting through the past 2 years’ worth of IEPs, test results, and ‘C’s general body of academic work, so I can make the most of this meeting on Monday. This isn’t right.

I should be sifting through candy right now…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

