jump to navigation

I Stand Corrected! December 5, 2008

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, Children, humor, Parenting, special needs.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I never saw this coming…

This week has been particularly busy for me. I had 3 closings. I can’t remember the last time I had 3 closings in one week. I’m lucky to have 3 closings in a month with the current real estate market. But I digress…

So, my mother-in-law got ‘C’ and his sister off their buses today. That breaks my normal routine of whisking ‘C’ into the house after school and opening up his communication notebook to see what the teacher has to say about how his day went.

Well, I get home and he’s playing in the den.  I go into his rolling duffel bag to get the book and spy a small, new toy in the bottom of his bag. It is immediately obvious to me that he was a good boy, since the toy is from a hard-earned trip to the class treasure chest.

‘C’ is just now emerging from a rough patch of about 2 weeks, due to a yeast flare-up from his HBOT. He’s gone from Mr. Hyde to Dr. Jeckyl. It’s like someone flipped a switch.

So, I am thrilled by the toy and want to share my pride. I go into the den with the toy in hand…

“Honey, I am so proud of you! You were a good boy at school today and earned a trip to the treasure chest! I love the lizard you picked”, I exclaimed as I held up the little green reptile.

‘C’ gets up off the floor and heads toward me with a big smile, and reaching out his little hand for the prize, simply states “It’s a chameleon, Mom.”

What????!!!!!!

I don’t know what floored me more: the fact that he corrected me, or that he knows what a chameleon is!

PS:  Tonight, for the first time ever, he spontaneously told his sister that he loved her.

Sweet Dreams, everyone!

Comments»

1. acollage - December 5, 2008

WOOHOO!!! Don’t you love those little things that pop up out of nowhere? That chameleon is going to be the best toy ever for a while now, eh? Enjoy your weekend.

2. hopeauthority - December 6, 2008

Moments like that can carry me for days!

3. rhemashope - December 11, 2008

How wonderful!!


Leave a Reply

