jump to navigation

I Put Out a “Hit” on Little Bear: A Cry for the Return of Vintage TV December 10, 2008

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, humor, Parenting, special needs.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

“Be careful what you wish for”, they say…

No, I didn’t get CNN in the HBOT tank when we resumed treatment on Monday night.  And I didn’t get either of the two often complained about Dora DVDs, that he watched for the first 10 dives. I got something worse. Much worse. Intolerable, even…

I got Little Bear’s Rainy Day Tales.

I freakin hate Little Bear. Really. He’s right up there with that whiny turtle Franklin, the ever-creepy Teletubbies, and the ever-annoying Barney. Actually, its BJ and Baby Bop that bug me more than Barney.

I’ve been on a non-stop run with these shows since the birth of my daughter almost 11 years ago. When she lost interest, ‘C’ came along, and the tapes just kept running. Thanks to autism, their appeal hasn’t yet worn off for ‘C’.

And of course, we’ve added new friends to the list.  Like the Wonder Pets (hate them) Backyardagains (hate them, too) and the freakiest phallic fest: Yo Gabba Gabba (WTF!).

Now, I’m not totally against kid’s TV shows. I have my favorites, like most moms.   Among the newer offerings, I like Jack’s Big Music Show and can tolerate Wow Wow Wubzy. 

And… truth be told… I have a crush on Anthony from the Wiggles. So I wasn’t too thrilled when they messed with my show and snuck in that new yellow Wiggle…don’t they realize there’s fans who’ve been watching them for, like, ten years now? Sheesh.

So, it got me thinking. (Which is about all I can do while stuck in that HBOT tank each night for almost an hour and a half.) And I was thinking back on the great quality TV shows I grew up with. And it made me smile.

So I thought that if I got you all to think back…and share some of your favorites…it’d make you smile too.

Here’s some of mine… to inspire your brains to go back to that happy time. But, I’m probably older than many of you (46), so, if you don’t want to be rude, don’t post if your all time favorite show was, uh, “90210”!

Here goes:

The Partridge Family, The Brady Bunch, The Addam’s Family, The Munsters, The Beverly Hillbillies, I Dream of Jeannie, Love American Style, The Courtship of Eddie’s Father, Dark Shadows, F-Troop…

Ok. I could go on forever. But then I’d take away all your fun. If you’re inspired, share up to 10 of your favorites, trying not to repeat any that have been mentioned.

Oh, and as for the Little Bear DVD?  Well, Little Bear had a little “accident” on Monday night. I don’t think he’ll be  boring   bothering us again anytime soon. Last night in the tank, I happily sang along to Dora’s World Adventure…

But in my heart, all I could hear was “Here’s the story. Of a lovely lady. Who was bringing up three very lovely girls…”

 

Comments»

1. HeatherPride - December 10, 2008

Oh my goodness, first of all I cannot stand Little Bear either! I was so glad when my son outgrew that show!!! I am a pretty big fan of Jack’s Big Music show, however.

When I was a kid I would stay up late to watch Star Trek, Fantasy Island (I loved it when it got scary!!) and The Love Boat. Oddly Quincy, ME made the list too. I’m still wondering about that one, but it must have planted a seed because now I love to watch Dr. G, Medical Examiner.

2. hopeauthority - December 10, 2008

“The plane! The plane!” LOL. My mom loved that one and we watched it together. Thanks for the memory.

3. Toni - December 29, 2008

Don’t get me started on the ridiculous Yo Gabba Gabba. I can’t help think that I could have come up with that idea when I was a teen in the 80’s doing a little (ok, a lot) of partying. Those people had to be on drugs when the show came to them. Thank goodness my kids don’t care for Gabba anymore. Like “C”, “G&G” love Wubzy!
I have to admit I have had a thing for Anthony from The Wiggles for years.Is it wrong that I am just as excited to see them come to town for a show as my kids are?? Don’t tell Tom. lol

As a teen I remember Knots Landing being my favorite show. As a kid I loved (have no idea why?) Land of the Lost on Saturday mornings (you know, in the olden days when you had to wait for Saturday’s to watch cartoons on one of only three channel selections).

hopeauthority - December 30, 2008

Hey I remember that one, too. I think I was too old to really enjoy it though. I used to make fun of that one! (Now I can tease you about it! LOL


Leave a Reply

