jump to navigation

Happy National Pie Day January 23, 2009

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, Parenting, special needs.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

No, I don’t have too much free time on my hands.

I have celebrated National Pie Day for many years and I encourage all of you to partake in some pie today too. Do it for me.

I’ve noticed that my kids, both the typical and the autistic, the girl and the boy, like to help me when I bake. And since I have been a competitive baker for over 20 years..and consider pies to be one of my strongest areas…I love that they want to help me.

On National Pie Day, I bake pies to eat and to give away. Today, I will be teaching my Junior Girl Scout troop to bake pies at our meeting…and they are all very excited since none of them (except my daughter) bake at home. Pie-making is becoming a lost art…and it’s time we change that!

We eat pie for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert on Pie Day. There’s pies, tarts, quiches. Dessert pies. Pot pies. Shepherd’s pies. For the lamest and laziest, there’s even pizza pies.

My challenge for you all today: If you are able to, bake a pie with your special needs and typical children. If it just won’t work out for today, plan to do so at a better time soon. Then buy a pie and eat it today. Or buy one and give it away if you’re dieting.

Trust me on this one. It’s a sweet deal any way you slice it.

Comments»

1. goodmum - January 23, 2009

Feel free to send a (dozen) pie(s) my way! 🙂

2. tiredmama - January 23, 2009

Thanks for the reminder! As I won’t be able to have pie today, you can bet I’ll take advantage of this holiday soon! 😉


Leave a Reply

