jump to navigation

Who is Your “Sue”? January 24, 2009

Posted by hopeauthority in Uncategorized.
trackback

Today is the 5th anniversary of the untimely death of my beloved sister-in-law, Sue. On the one hand, I can’t believe it’s been 5 years already. On the other, it feels like 20.

Autism would not be that hard to handle if Sue was here. Maybe there’s a friend or family member in your life that is your “Sue”?

She was the glue that held my husband’s family together. She was married to the oldest of 3 brothers (I’m married to the baby). With nine years between Mike and my hubby, and Mike and Sue being high school sweethearts, my hubby can’t remember a time when Sue wasn’t around.

She was one of those fun-loving people, who simply loved children. Not just her own two, but anybody’s children. She had a magical way with kids. I’ve never met anyone like her. And she was like a big sister to me, which was especially important when I (an only child) lost my mom, then dad, before I had my children. Sadly, the middle sister-in-law has never been interested in or close to our side of the family.

When my daughter finally arrived, no one was more excited than Sue. No one did more for me than Sue. I had to pry my baby away from her half the time! I was so easy for me to eventually go back to work a few days/week, knowing my daughter was in the best hands.

Sue battled cancer for 4 years. She died on January 24, 2004…just missing both of her children’s weddings that March. Her first grandchild was born that June. Fabio was diagnosed with Autism the day before we buried her. She was only 49.

I am thankful that she lived long enough to know and love both of my children, though only my daughter will have memories of her. I cherish the memories I have of her holding Fabio when she was strong enough to do so. Actually, I cherish every single memory of Sue.

Our family is not the same without her. If she was alive, she would be here for my family and autism would not be so difficult. So I miss Sue every day…especially today.

If you have someone like Sue in your life…someone who you’d be absolutely lost without…I hope you’ll call them today and tell them how important they are to you and your child. And tell us your story so we can feel good about them.

People like Sue…the unsung heroes…are a priceless gift. Be sure to thank them.

Comments»

1. MOMSBLESSINGS - January 26, 2009

First of all, I want to say, I am so sorry for the loss of someone so significant in your life, especially when she filled such a void for you after being an only child and losing both of your parents so early. My Sue, is most definetly my Mother, she also was the glue that held my family together. She was my Mother and my bestfriend, the one person that I knew would always look out for my best interests and would never judge me. Unfortunately, she passed away in 1990 and was not here when I had my children, she would have been there 100+% for me and my family, and I know she would have had a magical bond with both of my children.

2. hopeauthority - January 28, 2009

Isn’t that the cruelest thing? I too lost my mom before my kids were born. What a terrible void. What a loss for everyone.


Leave a Reply

