jump to navigation

100 Days of School February 9, 2009

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, autism diet, Parenting.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

So, this week we celebrate the 100th Day of School. Around here, it’s a big deal, but …thankfully… it is only celebrated by the first graders. (I know there’s other states that have each grade celebrate it each year.)

When my typical daughter had to do her project, we did this pretty fancy thing involving painting a wooden plaque, screwing 4 hooks into it, threading 25 colorful beads onto 4 wires (100 beads), attaching the strands to the hooks, and placing sticker-letters on the plaque proclaiming her name and the school name and “100 days of school”.

Tonight’s project with Fabio was simply to glue 100 things onto the big piece of construction paper the teacher provided with a big “100” in the center. Easy, right? Well…

First I made the mistake of taking Fabio to the craft store to pick out what he wanted to glue on. I had already decided on those foam stickers that you just peel the back off and they stick on anything. If I had to deal with glue for 100 items, I’d surely have passed out from the fumes…

So, Fabio was a pain in the butt in the craft store. It didn’t help that I had a return to do there first and the clerk was slow as molasses.  Fabio’s rarely good in the stores. Which is why I rarely bring him. Which is why he isn’t good there. Vicious circle.

So we grab the foamies and get home and get started.

By the time we got to about 40 items, I was losing him. And we had 60 to go. Lots and lots of re-directing later, and the masterpiece is done! It’s covered with fish, alligators, turtles, frogs, dolphins, penguins and lots of stars!

The thing I hate more about the 100th day of school celebration than the project is the traditional McDonald’s Happy Meal party they are having in Fabio’s class to celebrate on Thursday. ARGH!

The form came home last week requesting $4 if you are participating. Fabio can’t eat anything that I don’t make for him…so McDonald’s is OUT. But how do I handle this? I can’t have him eat his regular food when his class is all eating happy meals. Do I keep him home?

So here’s what I came up with. On Thursday, Fabio will have a happy meal…sort of. I bought one this weekend and kept the McNugget container, the cup/lid/straw, the apple dippers bag, the happy meal bag, the boy toy. I will make him nuggets for the teacher to heat up and sneak into this container, a peeled and sliced fresh apple to sneak into the apple dippers bag, his own juice to put in the cup. His meal will look like the others. I think it’ll work.

Its times like this that it’s so hard to have a kid on the spectrum on a diet.

Comments»

1. tiredmama - February 9, 2009

Nicw way to be sneaky! We’ve done that kind of stuff before. It’s a great feeling of accomplishment when it’s pulled off, but definitely a pain in the butt to prepare! Hope all goes well. 🙂


Leave a Reply

