jump to navigation

Empathy and Autism March 23, 2009

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, Health, Parenting, special needs.
Tags: , ,
trackback

During my recent sickness, Fabio and I shared one of the most beautiful moments.

It was the fourth day of suffering with a headache like none I’ve ever felt. Nothing would relieve the pain. Nothing. Fabio and I were alone in the house, in the den. He on the computer. Me on the nearby couch.

So, I figure he’s engrossed in his game. And in a weak moment, the tears come and I sit there sobbing softly into the arm of the couch. I don’t know how much longer I can take this pain.

Fabio turns around to look at me from his computer chair and sweetly asks: “What’s the problem, Mom?”

I look up, surprised at the inquiry. “Oh, honey, Mommy has a bad headache. My head hurts alot.”

He gets off his chair and walks over to me. He leans in and kisses my forehead gently. Then he steps back and before returning to his computer chair he says/asks: “Happy?”

It was all I could do not to cry even harder…

Comments»

1. HeatherPride - March 23, 2009

Aw, I know. When my kid tries to kiss my boo-boos it makes me cry too!

2. pixiemama - March 23, 2009

Ow – now that’s a headache. My gosh. Resisting the crying is futile, but the crying itself makes the problem so much worse.

Hope you’re feeling better. If not – call the doctor! It’s not OK to have headaches that last DAYS.

xo


Leave a Reply

