jump to navigation

It’s Autism Awareness Month…Yip-pee! April 1, 2009

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, Children, Health, Parenting, special needs.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Well, its April again.

Already.

I don’t like April.

There’s April showers. April Fools Day (for people who actually have time for pranks and laughter). Allergies. Taxes. A big freakin school vacation to disrupt routines and invite regression and highlight social isolation. Oh, and there’s Autism Awareness Month, of course.

So the whole world will suddenly step up its efforts to be “aware” of autism … for thirty whole days. There will be lots of news articles and Jenny McCarthy sightings, talk shows, and some fundraisers… for thirty whole days.

Good-bye rollover minutes!  I will get copies of every article, plus tons of phone calls reminding me to watch every autism story from everyone who has ever so much as heard of my son having autism… from my Great Aunt Lizzie’s gardener’s nephew to my cousin John the hairdresser’s clients… for thirty days.

I swear, long before the May flowers sprout, I’ll have had my fill of the many “helpful” souls who just show up in April and pass along some autism “news” simply to make themselves feel better. I especially love the ones who tell me about how a special diet may help… Fabio’s only been religiously following one of the most restrictive diets ever made for the past four freakin years. Anyone who has spent more than three hours with my family would know that.  

In fact, there’s only one thing that feels longer than those thirty days in April …it’s the remaining 11 months of the year when the “awareness” fades away and nobody calls… or visits… or helps… or cares.

We don’t need Autism Awareness Month. Or Autism Awareness Day.

We need Autism Awareness Daily. Right Now.

Comments»

1. pixiemama - April 1, 2009

It’s the “awareness” think that chafes me. WE ARE AWARE. I see those billboards and think – how is that helping ANY kid with autism? Call me bitter, but with the statistics the way they are, I think we need more than awareness.

2. HeatherPride - April 1, 2009

Wow, great post. You’re right about awareness. I hope your April goes smoothly.

3. hopeauthority - April 1, 2009

Would you believe it already happened???!!! I told you so.

Autism Awareness Month is barely 24 hours old and already my husband came home spouting something about the secretary of another lawyer in his building saying something about Jenny McCarthy’s new book.

I’m freakin psychic, I tell you.


Leave a Reply

