jump to navigation

The Mainstreaming Experiment April 21, 2009

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, Children, special education, special needs.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Today, Fabio had his first taste of a typical classroom. Just a taste.

And I am thrilled to report that it was freakin de.li.cious!

My little guy has worked so hard this year. A few months ago, he got to mainstream into a typical first grade class for gym. He happens to be very athletic and coordinated, so we reasoned that gym would be a good place to start mainstreaming. And because that’s gone so well, I suggested at his April 1st IEP that we consider experimenting with a more traditional and structured subject.

His teacher agreed and Fabio is now going to spend some time each day in Reading in a typical first grade class of about 25 kids. Starting today.

I wanted to call the school, like 15 times, to see how it went. I was imagining the worst.  Would he even go into the classroom? Would he melt down from the terror and be unable to transition? Would the teacher be supportive? Would the kids be nice? I could barely wait til the little bus brought him home to find out how it went.

Me (excitedly): So, did you go to Mrs. L’s class today?

Fabio: Yes.

Me: Well, how was it?

Fabio: Good.

Me: Tell me what you did. Did you read with the other kids?

Fabio: I want Noggin, please.

Argh. So close…yet so far. This is going nowhere. I know…I’ll check the communication notebook for a note from the teacher (who was forewarned that failure to send a note home with details would result in a frantic phone call instead).

There I found it. The note. It said:

Fabio had a great day. He went to Mrs. L’s class for reading. NO BEHAVIORS!  He raised his hand and participated in class. He was very interested in the new environment and was looking around the room. Fabio continues to do well in mainstream gym and he’s making friends.

I stood there and took it all in for a moment. Unable to speak. Joy and hope daring to well up inside me.

No behaviors? Raised his hand? Participated in class? Is making friends?

The words assembling a vision in my mind of my little boy… who works so hard… bravely facing this major transition. Boldly crossing over from his autistic class to a typical one…just for awhile. Overcoming all the social, behavioral, and sensory obstacles of his surroundings that no doubt were bombarding him the entire time. Mentally slaying those dragons.

The journey is long and hard. But it’s days like this that replenish the spirit.

I am so proud of my little boy. So, so proud.

Comments»

1. tiredmama - April 22, 2009

Tears came to my eyes as I read this! Yay for Fabio!!! 🙂

2. HeatherPride - April 22, 2009

Yay, Fabio!! What leaps and bounds! I was the happiest to know that he’s making friends. What a relief it must be for you! I’m sure there will be ups and downs, but this is a GREAT start!! Congrats!

3. pixiemama - April 24, 2009

🙂

love.

4. abunslife - April 27, 2009

That is just awesome!!


Leave a Reply

