jump to navigation

Stroke: Autism’s “Cousin” May 18, 2009

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, Children, Family, grandparenting, Health.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

It’s been awhile. My aunt’s stroke has taken me away from the blog partly because of the physical things I need to do for her and partly due to the mental distraction of her situation.

She survived with mental faculties largely intact. Short- and long- term memory are great. Speech is pretty good. No facial drooping. But the right side of her body is essentially paralyzed. Can’t move the arm or leg. She came out of the ICU, off the ventilator. Now stable.

And cursing. A blue streak. (This from a proper woman who never, ever cursed in her life!) She was being starved by a$$holes for God’s sake! And mistreated by these bast@rds! Why, she was going to call her lawyer to start a suit against the whole lot of them morons!

Well, that was the status when I spoke to her last Thursday. So, I had to make the trip to Pennsylvania on Friday to straighten things out.

So, I arrive in under 4 hours, loaded down with dozens of fresh New York bagels and containers of cream cheese for each of the departments who have helped my aunt. Nothing shows your appreciation better than NY bagels!

Needless to say, the so-called bast@rds couldn’t be more accommodating to me…or my aunt. The Director of Nutrition Services came up to go over her dietary wishes in painstaking detail assuring me that nothing undesirable would ever cross her plate again… and that she’d eat plenty.  Her doctor came right in to update me.

Even the priest from her parish had gotten my message and showed up to bless her, which brought her much needed peace.

Then just as I was about to end my 7 hour visit and begin the long drive home, they discharged her from the hospital and moved her to its 9th floor Acute rehab center. Argh! So, I started all over with the new staff…who is wonderful. And a few more hours later, I left her in their competent hands to begin her 3 hours per day, intensive therapy regimen.

As I visited with her, I couldn’t help but think about the parallels between autism and stroke. And it brought me sadness and frustration.

Like my son, she sometimes needed to “search” for the words she wanted to say. You could see from her face that they were in there somewhere and she was frustrated to have to make an effort to retrieve what was always so readily available. She will need speech therapy, like Fabio.

Fabio could certainly benefit from some occupational therapy (OT) for his pitiful little handwriting, but he doesn’t qualify for OT services since his other fine motor skills are stong and bring up his overall score on the eval exam. But how can I complain about his scrawl as I watch my aunt trying to massage the life back into her right hand with her left one? She will need OT to relearn every skill she ever had like writing, washing, dressing, feeding.

Fortunately, Fabio is a wiz when it comes to all things physical. I am ever grateful for this gift as I am aware that many autistic children need quite a bit of physical therapy (PT). For my aunt, intensive PT is the most important therapy of all. She must try to regain the use of her right side if she ever wants to live independently again. She needs to be able to move. Herself. By herself. Safely.

It’s independence or institution.

So, I sat there for hours…at times blankly smiling at my aunt while my mind secretly contemplated all these cosmic similarities between her situation and Fabio’s…and I felt sadness and frustration. And I felt tired from the battle he’s been fighting and from the one she must now take on.

But I spoke to her only of hope… though there is little for a complete recovery.  A complete “recovery”.

And then I thought of my boy. And the similarities.

And I am sad. And frustrated. And tired.

Update June 16,2009:

My aunt passed away on May 23, 2009, which is why I haven’t been posting for some time. Thanks for your support and prayers.

Comments»

1. pixiemama - May 18, 2009

love.


Leave a Reply

