jump to navigation

Autism Statistics Now 1:100! October 5, 2009

Posted by hopeauthority in Autism, Children, Family, Health, Parenting, special education, special needs.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

There’s many stereotypes and generalizations about autistic kids. Like they don’t handle change well…they like routine…they hate transitions. Well, maybe the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree in this house.

I was on a roll with this blog when my aunt passed away in May. For three and a half months, I found it hard to carve out the time for blogging. It’s not about just posting comments, but also about reading those of others. It’s about sharing and connecting.

My aunt died. My routine was broken. I was unhappy about both. Then a new routine of not blogging set in without me really realizing it. And then that became a hard routine to break.

And so much has happened that was newsworthy in the public eye… as well as in our private life… that caused me to at least think “I gotta get back to my blog!” Yet I didn’t.

I let horror stories go. I didn’t pay proper respects at the loss of Ethel Kennedy Shriver, or of local autism heroes. I’ve been lax in reporting Fabio’s HBOT progress or any of his milestones and challenges. There’s a 100 posts in my head that never made it to the screen.

But today, in Newsday, my local newspaper, an article by Carla K. Johnson, entitled, New study  reveals worrisome autism numbers, jogged me out of my fog and sent me running to the computer:

Two new government studies indicate about 1 in 100 children have autism disorders–higher than a previous U.S. estimate of 1 in 150.

Suddenly, I am moved to write again. But I am speechless. 

Perhaps a moment of silence would be best…

Comments»

1. tiredmama - October 5, 2009

Not to shock you even more, but that stats that I actually read about today coming from the Dept. of Health and Human Services are reporting 1 in 91 American children have an autism spectrum disorder. (1 in 58 among boys.) Scary!

2. tiredmama - October 5, 2009

Good to see you back, BTW. 🙂

3. pixiemama - October 10, 2009

Yeah, but instead of taking action, let’s all fixate on a flu that’s basically a cold with a fever… and far LESS deadly than the “real” flu.

Sorry about your aunt.

love.


Leave a Reply

